How Can I Find Help After A Brain Injury?

A great source of information is the Brain Injury Association. You can reach the national office of the Association at (800) 444-6443 or www.biausa.org. The Brain Injury Association puts out numerous publications including its National Directory of Brain Injury Rehabilitation Services. You can reach the Nebraska affiliate, which is the Brain Injury Association of Nebraska at www.biane.org or (800) 444-6443 / (402) 423-2463. Perhaps the best source of help is your local support group.

Brain and Head Injury Support Groups in Nebraska

Alliance
Stroke and Brain Injury Group
When: Second Tuesday 3 pm
Where: Box Butte General Hospital, Hyannis Room
2101 Box Butte Avenue
Contact: Martha Douglas
308.761.3372 mdouglas@bbgh.org

Beatrice
Brenda Mannschreck
Beatrice Community Hospital
110 North 10th
Beatrice, NE 68310
(402) 223-7323
Meet: 4th Monday

Columbus
TBI/Stroke Support Group
When: Forth Wednesday 12-1pm
Where: Columbus Community Hospital
Prairie Room, 4600 38th Street
Contact: Meghan Jantzi
402-562-3333 mmjantzi@columbushosp.org

Grand Island
When: Third Monday 7 p.m.
Where: Saint Francis Medical Center
2620 West Faidley Ave
Contact: Cris McElroy
308.398.5396 cmcelroy@sfmc-gi.org

Hastings
When: First Tuesday 3:30–5:00 pm
Where: Mary Lanning Medical Services Bdg, Basement
Education Dept., 715 North St. Joseph Avenue
Contact: Kathlene Smith
402.460.5763 kkksmith@yahoo.com

Kearney
When: Third Saturday
Where: Good Samaritan Hospital
10 East 31st Street
Contact: Kristine Frerichs
308.627.1731 kfrerichs@esu10.org
Kathryn Feldman
308.224.1080 Kathygirl2050@yahoo.com

Lincoln
Janet Lingren
2401 S. 75th St.
Lincoln, NE 68506
(402) 488-1916
Meet: 2nd Tuesday

Lincoln
When: Second Tuesday 7:00-8:30 p.m.
Where: First United Methodist Church
2723 N 50th St. (Enter on north near parking lot.)
Contact: Nita Sipple
402.890.4521 nita_sipple@yahoo.com
Teresa Thompson CrdCat@aol.com

Lincoln
When: Second & Fourth Thursdays, 4:00-5:00 pm
Where: Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital, Nemaha Rm
5401 South Street
Contact: Dr. Paula Ray
402.483.9625 pray@madonna.org
Amy Potter
402.483.9687 apotter@madonna.org

Lincoln
When: First & Third Mondays 6:30-7:30 pm
Where: Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital
5401 South Street
Contact: Michelle Grieser
402.499.4227 mhawleyg@windstream.net

Lincoln
When: Second Friday 6:30-8:30 p.m
Where: Call for location. Mix of activities/topics.
Contact: Karen Hux
402.472.8249 Khux1@unl.edu
Gina Simanek
402.327.0120 gsimanek@neb.rr.com

Norfolk
When: First Monday (time varies, call to check)
Where: Prairie Room on east campus of Faith Regional
Health Services, 1500 Koenigstein Avenue
Contact: Margaret Jensen
402.371.7284 noredn@qwestoffice.net

North Platte
When: Second Monday
Where: Great Plains Regional Medical Center
601 West Leota Street
Contact: Shelly Trofholz
308.532.6146 s_trofholz@yahoo.com

Omaha Central
Melody Martin
5214 S. 49th St.
Omaha, NE 68117
(402) 733-2491
Meet: Call

Omaha
When: Second Tuesday 6:00 pm
Where: Immanuel Rehab Conference Center,
Centennial Room. 6901 North 72nd St.
Contact: Anne Hupka
402.572.2139 anne.hupka@alegent.org

Scottsbluff
When: Third Tuesday 4:30 p.m.
Where: ESU13, 4215 Ave I
Contact: Martha Douglas
308.761.3372 mdouglas@bbgh.org
Vicki Rutter
308.635.3696 vrutter@esu13.org

York
Anita Hoffman
York Hospital
York, NE 68467
(402) 362-0436
Meet: Call Jeff Dinsmore
H: (402) 725-3222 or W: (402) 723-4461